The Pygmy Right Whale

There I was trawling the flotsam and jetsam  on a beach in Western Victoria when a man and dog arrived and told me that a whale has washed up on the beach a bit further down from where I was. Of course I went for a look.

What I found was a baby Pygmy Right Whale, which had been there for a while, not from the aroma but the sand and scavenger attacks. It was about 8 feet long with no obvious reason for it’s untimely death. No bites or cuts, so I assume drowning due to heavy weather or illness.

Never the less, I have made some images for you to view of this scene. I hope you find them compelling. I also found an interesting guy you  may like to follow who has written a song for whales, Tom Kenyon.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Leave a Reply

